2024 Boys & Girls Track and Field

2024 Class 3A Sectional Assignments
Registered Participants: 605   -   Enrollment Split: TBD   -   Determining Class Split
Sectional Host   |   Co-op = Co-op Host
Sectional 1
@ Deerfield High School
Host: Lindenhurst Millburn MS
Saturday, May 11, 2024,  9:00 AM
@ Deerfield High School , 1959 N. Waukegan Rd., Deerfield   Map
Seed Meeting: Wednesday, May 8, 2024  6:30 PM
@ Millburn MS (Media Center / Use the East Entrance) , 640 Freedom Way, Lindenhurst   Map
Crystal Lake Prairie Grove   
Deerfield Caruso   
Deerfield Shepard   
Fox Lake Stanton   
Green Oaks Oak Grove   
Ingleside Gavin South   
Johnsburg JHS   
Lake Bluff   
Lindenhurst Millburn MS    (Host)
Mundelein West Oak   
Northbrook Field   
Northbrook Wood Oaks   
Prospect Heights MacArthur   
Richmond Nippersink   
Round Lake Park   
Sectional 2
@ Genoa Kingston High School Stadium
Host: Genoa Kingston
Friday, May 10, 2024,  2:00 PM
@ Genoa Kingston High School Stadium , 980 Park Ave, Genoa   Map
Seed Meeting: Wednesday, May 8, 2024  6:30 PM
@ Genoa Kingston High School , 980 Park Ave., Genoa   Map
Genoa Kingston    (Host)
Mendota Northbrook   
Morrison JHS   
Oregon JHS   
Poplar Grove North Boone   
Port Byron Riverdale   
Rock Falls    (Co-op)
Rockford Kennedy   
Rockford Marshall   
South Beloit   
Stillman Valley Meridian   
Sectional 3
@ Chicago Hope Academy
Host: Chicago Latin School
Saturday, May 11, 2024,  9:00 AM
@ Chicago Hope Academy , 2630 W. Lexington St., Chicago   Map
Burr Ridge Gower   
Chicago Frances Xavier Warde   
Chicago Latin School    (Host)
Chicago St. Benedict   
Darien Eisenhower   
Itasca Peacock   
Mt. Prospect River Trails   
River Forest Roosevelt   
Skokie Fairview South   
Willowbrook Westview Hills   
Winfield Wheaton Christian   
Sectional 4
@ Morris High School
Host: Morris GS
Saturday, May 11, 2024,  9:00 AM
@ Morris High School , 1000 Union St., Morris   Map
Seed Meeting: Wednesday, May 8, 2024  6:00 PM
@ Virtual
Calumet City Schrum   
Calumet Park Calumet   
Country Club Hills Southwood   
Crest Hill Richland   
Dixmoor Rosa Parks   
Dolton Lincoln   
Glenwood Brookwood   
Harvey Brooks   
Lansing Heritage   
Lockport Kelvin Grove   
Lockport Oak Prairie   
Morris GS    (Host) (Co-op)
Morris Saratoga   
Sauk Village Rickover   
Sectional 5
@ Hoopeston Area High School
Host: Hoopeston Area
Friday, May 10, 2024,  1:00 PM
@ Hoopeston Area High School , 615 E. Orange St., Hoopeston   Map
Seed Meeting: Wednesday, May 8, 2024  6:00 PM
@ Hoopeston Area High School , 615 E. Orange St., Hoopeston   Map
Bradley Central   
Braidwood Reed-Custer   
Clifton Nash   
Coal City   
Forrest Prairie Central   
Herscher Limestone   
Hoopeston Area    (Host)
Park Forest Michelle Obama STA   
Pontiac JHS    (Co-op)
Steger Columbia   
Sectional 6
@ Eureka High School
Host: Eureka
Saturday, May 11, 2024,  9:00 AM
@ Eureka High School , 200 W. Cruger Ave., Eureka   Map
Seed Meeting: Wednesday, May 8, 2024  6:30 PM
@ Eureka Middle School , 2005 S. Main St., Eureka   Map
East Peoria Central   
El Paso-Gridley   
Eureka    (Host)
Germantown Hills   
LaSalle Lincoln   
Mackinaw Dee-Mack   
Metamora GS    (Co-op)
Pekin Edison   
Peru Parkside   
Princeton Logan   
Stanford Olympia   
Streator Northlawn   
Washington Central   
Washington MS   

IESA Track & Field 2024 Class 3A Sectional Assignments
Sectional 7
@ Farmington High School
Host: Farmington Central
Saturday, May 11, 2024,  9:00 AM
@ Farmington High School , 310 N Lightfoot Rd., Farmington   Map
Seed Meeting: Wednesday, May 8, 2024  6:00 PM
@ Farmington Central HS Room 625 , 212 N. Lightfoot Rd., Farmington   Map
Aledo Mercer County   
Canton Ingersoll   
Farmington Central    (Host)
Kewanee Central   
Lewistown JHS    (Co-op)
Monmouth United   
Monmouth-Roseville JHS   
Peoria Liberty   
Peoria Rolling Acres   
Rock Island Jordan Catholic    (Co-op)
Sherrard JHS   
Taylor Ridge Rockridge   
Sectional 8
@ Tuscola High School
Host: Tuscola East Prairie
Saturday, May 11, 2024,  10:00 AM
@ Tuscola High School , 500 S. Prairie St., Tuscola   Map
Seed Meeting: Wednesday, May 8, 2024  7:00 PM
@ Tuscola East Prairie MS- Library , 409 S. Prairie St., Tuscola   Map
Arthur    (Co-op)
Lawrenceville Parkview   
Marshall JHS   
Newton Jasper County   
Paris Mayo   
Robinson Nuttall   
Shelbyville Moulton   
St. Joseph   
Toledo Cumberland   
Tolono Unity   
Tuscola East Prairie    (Host)
Westville JHS   
Sectional 9
@ Maroa-Forsyth High School
Host: Maroa-Forsyth
Saturday, May 11, 2024,  9:00 AM
@ Maroa-Forsyth High School , 610 W. Washington St., Maroa   Map
Seed Meeting: Wednesday, May 8, 2024  6:00 PM
@ Maroa-Forsyth High School- Auditorium , 610 W. Washington St., Maroa   Map
Beardstown MS   
Decatur Johns Hill   
Downs Tri-Valley   
Lincoln JHS   
Macon Meridian   
Maroa-Forsyth    (Host)
Petersburg PORTA JHS    (Co-op)
Pleasant Plains   
Rushville Schuyler Industry   
Springfield Lincoln    (Co-op)
Sectional 10
@ North Mac High School
Host: Girard North Mac
Friday, May 10, 2024,  1:00 PM
@ North Mac High School , 231 West Fortune St., Virden   Map
Seed Meeting: Wednesday, May 8, 2024  6:00 PM
@ Online
Auburn JHS at Divernon   
East St. Louis Clark   
East St. Louis Lincoln   
Girard North Mac    (Host)
Greenville    (Co-op)
Pana JHS    (Co-op)
Piasa Southwestern   
Pittsfield Pikeland   

Class History

The first IESA state track meet for boys was held in Wenona in 1932 with 28 schools attending. A 24" trophy for the winning team was donated by the merchants of Wenona.

From 1932 to 1984 there were two classes of boys' track, Class A (Heavyweights) and Class B (Lightweights). Class B was based on age, weight, and height from 1932 to 1968. In 1969, the weight factor was dropped and competition was based on age and height factors. Class B was discontinued in 1985, changed to grade level play (7 and 8) and school size, our present classes.

The girls' track program, initiated in 1972 at the regional level, moved to state finals in 1974 in two divisions: Class A for grades five through eight and Class B for grades five and six only. These two classes were continued through the 1979 season. From 1980 through 1984, the Girls classes were changed to correspond with those of the boys based on age and height factors. Class B girls were measured during those years for height the same as the boys. Beginning in 1985, those classes were dropped and reorganized into four classes by school size and grade level (7A, 7AA, 8A and 8AA). It was split again in 2021 into the current classes of 7-1A, 7-2A, 7-3A, 7-4A, 8-1A, 8-2A, 8-3A, and 8-4A.

Boys' and girls' wheelchair divisions in 1A/2A and 3A/4A were added in 2024.

How Class Split is Determined

Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
Royal Publishing
DICK's Sporting Goods Event Pro Photography Mikasa Sports
Reinstein Quizbowl
A&M Products Run With The Law Slammer Systems Rawlings Cubby Hole
Illinois High School Association IHSA's March Madness Experience Illinois Athletic Directors Association National Federation of State High School Associations NFHS Learning Center
Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705
PH: 309-829-0114
FAX: 309-829-0625
Contents © 1999-2024 Illinois Elementary School Association

If you encounter an error message, please contact our webmaster.
Tell us your school, and be as specific as you can about the problem.
Most helpful would any error information listed as part of the error page.