Why Your School Should Become a Member
Sportsmanship Center

Illinois High School Association
National Federation of State High School Associations
NFHS Learning Center
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
IESA Sportsmanship Center

2017 IESA Scholar Attitude Award

Main Page   -   All-Time Winners by School

15 Individuals Named as IESA Scholar Attitude Award Winners

2017 Scholar Attitude Winners
Scholar Attitude Winners

Back Row L to R: Jack Cossairt, Evan Stegall, Kate Aupperle, Kate Dennis, Analise Best, Conner Curry, Ben Geiger, Gabe Huddleston.

Front Row L to R: Olivia Theirl, Payton Kinder, Uche Onyenemezu, Molly FitzPatrick, Bethany Bergschneider, Megan Ptak, Emilie Collins.

The Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Scholar Attitude Award presented by Caterpillar. A panel of judges convened at the IESA Office on March 28 and selected one student from each of the 15 IESA membership divisions for the award. To be considered, a student from an IESA member school must be of 8th grade status, have a minimum grade-point-average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must have participated in at least one IESA activity during each year of their two-year junior high career, and demonstrated outstanding citizenship during their junior high tenure. In addition, each student is required to submit an essay titled "The Value of Sportsmanship."

"I am pleased to announce the 2017 IESA Scholar Attitude Award Winners," said Steve Endsley, IESA Executive Director. "These 15 students represent the very essence of junior high school interscholastic activities. They have excelled in the classroom, on the athletic fields, in fine arts activities, and have demonstrated outstanding leadership in their communities. When this award was created 19 years ago, I was amazed at the caliber of students who won the award. Now, 19 years later, the students are equally impressive and given the advances in technology, bring so many experiences to the classroom. It is indeed an honor to be associated with students who have achieved so much and are so prepared for their high school careers and beyond. In addition to the 15 statewide winners, I also extend my congratulations to the students who applied but were not selected as it is a significant accomplishment just to be selected by their school to apply for the award."

The 15 award winners, two guests of each award winner, and the school principal will be guests of the IESA and will be honored with a luncheon on Tuesday, May 2, at the Doubletree Hotel and Conference Center in Bloomington. The luncheon ceremony will begin at 11:00 a.m. All award winners will receive a plaque, an award medallion, a gift card, and a DVD of the day's events. Mr. Stephen Bargatze of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association will be the guest speaker.

A complete listing of prior winners is available at the following link:


This year's class brings the total number of students who have won the award to 364 since the award was started in 1999. Those students represent 205 IESA member schools. For additional information, please contact Steve Endsley, IESA, 309-829-0114.

Named as Scholar Attitude Award Winners for 2017 are:
Molly FitzPatrick, Barrington Station
Kate Dennis, Rockford Eisenhower
Jack Cossairt, Westmont JHS
Uche Onyenemezu, Crest Hill Richland
Emilie Collins, Pontiac St. Mary's
Megan Ptak, Princeville
Conner Curry, Watseka Glenn Raymond
Ben Geiger, Morton JHS
Kate Aupperle, Maroa-Forsyth
Evan Stegall, Macomb
Gabe Huddleston, Danville Schlarman
Olivia Theirl, Paris Mayo
Bethany Bergschneider, Franklin
Payton Kinder, Newton Jasper County
Analise Best, Staunton

  "The students selected for our Scholar Attitude Award represent the finest junior high school students in the state of Illinois," said Steve Endsley, IESA Executive Director. "The students have demonstrated their abilities in the classroom, on the playing fields, and in their communities. It is refreshing to see that the youth of Illinois are preparing for their high school careers and beyond. These students will be the leaders of tomorrow."

Steve Endsley, IESA Executive Director, Administrator for Scholar Attitude Award

Home   |   Site Map   |   Activities   |   News   |   Sportsmanship   |   Administration   |   Resources

WWW www.iesa.org

Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705 - PH: 309-829-0114 - FAX: 309-829-0625
Contact the IESA - http://www.iesa.org
Contents © 1999-2019 Illinois Elementary School Association