Why Your School Should Become a Member
Sportsmanship Center

Illinois High School Association
National Federation of State High School Associations
NFHS Learning Center
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
IESA Sportsmanship Center

2012 IESA Scholar Attitude Award

Main Page   -   All-Time Winners by School

30 Individuals Named as IESA Scholar Attitude Award Winners

2012 Scholar Attitude Winners
Scholar Attitude Winners

Hailey Hollinshead, Gabrielle Torrance, Danny Allanson, Quinn Singbush, Cameron Van Boekel, Tyler Johnson, Jacob Emerson, Dustan Davidson, Justin Loquercio, Hannah Cohn, and Connor Kennedy.

Kyler Knapp, Molly Kapala, Alana Harms, Samantha Bluth, Jordyn Eads, Jen Ehresman, Ryan O'Callaghan, Nick McHale, Marianna Vakaki, and Reed Schafer.

Kalee Childress, Claudia VanOpdorp, Kelly Schneider, Allee Bunting, Jackson Allen, Nathan Corman, Amelia Murray, Charli Uhlrich, and Dallas McClain.

The Illinois Elementary School Association (IESA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 Scholar Attitude Award presented by State Farm. Thirty (30) students from across the state who attend IESA member schools were selected by a panel of judges and will be honored with a luncheon on Tuesday, April 24, at the Doubletree Hotel in Bloomington. It begins at 11:00 a.m.

To be eligible, a student from an IESA member school must be of 8th grade status, have a minimum grade-point-average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, must have participated in at least one IESA activity during each year of their two-year junior high career, and demonstrated outstanding citizenship during their junior high tenure. In addition, each student is required to submit a typed essay titled "The Value of Sportsmanship."

"Each year, I am continually amazed at the quality of the individuals that are selected for this award", said IESA Executive Director Steve Endsley. "Prior to 2007, our judges selected just one student from each of the 14 membership divisions. Because of the support we have once again received from State Farm, our judges now select one girl and one boy from each of the 15 membership divisions bringing the total number of yearly award winners to 30. There are some very talented junior high students in our state; students who excel in the classroom, on the playing fields, and in the fine arts arena. The students selected for our 14th annual Scholar Attitude Award represent the finest junior high school students in the state of Illinois. It is indeed an honor to be associated with students who have achieved so much and are so prepared for their high school careers and beyond. I congratulate each student winner and my fervent hope is that they continue to excel in all of their future endeavors."

There have been 289 winners selected for the award since it was first stated in 1999. Those 289 students represent 177 different IESA member schools.

The 30 award winners, two guests of each award winner, and the school principal will be guests of the IESA at the luncheon. All award winners will receive a plaque, an award medallion, a gift card, and a DVD of the day's events. Mr. Stephen Bargatze of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association will be the guest speaker.

Named as Scholar Attitude Award Winners for 2012 are:
Amelia Murray, McHenry Parkland Justin Loquercio, Wheeling Holmes
Claudia VanOpdorp, Annawan Quinn Singbush, Geneseo MS
Hannah Cohn, Flossmoor Parker Cameron Van Boekel, Yorkville
Molly Kapala, Frankfort Summit Hill Ryan O'Callaghan, Lockport Oak Prairie
Alana Harms, Flanagan Kyler Knapp, Forrest Prairie Central
Samantha Bluth, Dunlap Valley MS Nathan Corman, Monmouth ICS
Allee Bunting, Watseka Glenn Raymond Jacob Emerson, St. Anne
Jen Ehresman, El Paso-Gridley Connor Kennedy, Normal Parkside
Jordyn Eads, Cerro Gordo Dallas McClain, Decatur Stephen Decatur
Gabrielle Torrance, Macomb Jackson Allen, Ashland A-C Central
Marianna Vakaki, Champaign Next Generation Nick McHale, Mahomet-Seymour
Charli Uhlrich, Findlay Okaw Valley Danny Allanson, Paris Crestwood
Hailey Hollinshead, Rochester Tyler Johnson, Springfield Christian
Kalee Childress, Robinson Nuttall Reed Schafer, Effingham JHS
Kelly Schneider, Mt. Olive Dustan Davidson, O'Fallon Fulton

  "The students selected for our Scholar Attitude Award represent the finest junior high school students in the state of Illinois," said Steve Endsley, IESA Executive Director. "The students have demonstrated their abilities in the classroom, on the playing fields, and in their communities. It is refreshing to see that the youth of Illinois are preparing for their high school careers and beyond. These students will be the leaders of tomorrow."

Steve Endsley, IESA Executive Director, Administrator for Scholar Attitude Award

Home   |   Site Map   |   Activities   |   News   |   Sportsmanship   |   Administration   |   Resources

WWW www.iesa.org

Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705 - PH: 309-829-0114 - FAX: 309-829-0625
Contact the IESA - http://www.iesa.org
Contents © 1999-2019 Illinois Elementary School Association