Why Your School Should Become a Member
Sportsmanship Center

Illinois High School Association
National Federation of State High School Associations
NFHS Learning Center
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
IESA Sportsmanship Center

2016 IESA Scholar Attitude Award

Main Page   -   All-Time Winners by School

Back to 2016 Winners

Claire Bushur

Claire Bushur


Principal: Mr. Patrick Drees

Claire Bushur, a strong student and athlete in softball, basketball, volleyball, and track and field, has learned a great deal in the successes and disappointments of her interscholastic career.

Her mature attitude when experiencing both the ups and downs led her to be named the Scholar Attitude Award winner for Board of Directors Division N.

Claire's proudest moment thus far is setting the Class A state record in the girls shot put during her seventh grade year. Her success was a bit of a surprise; she noted, "I did not realize until nearly the end of the season that my throws were in the range of past champions. Therefore, I was shocked to not only make it to state, but to win. I am most proud because I made so much progress throughout the season - increasing my throw by nearly ten feet."

Her most difficult moment was when her basketball team experienced a loss following an undefeated season. The loss was devastating to the whole team, but Claire and her teammates were still able to earn third place in state. She recalls, "I wouldn't have been able to handle that experience as well if I didn't have eleven other girls who were going through the same thing."

Claire plans to attend college after high school. Although not certain the field of study, she would like to concentrate in teaching or physical therapy.

Back to 2016 Winners

Home   |   Site Map   |   Activities   |   News   |   Sportsmanship   |   Administration   |   Resources

WWW www.iesa.org

Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705 - PH: 309-829-0114 - FAX: 309-829-0625
Contact the IESA - http://www.iesa.org
Contents © 1999-2019 Illinois Elementary School Association