Why Your School Should Become a Member
Sportsmanship Center

Illinois High School Association
National Federation of State High School Associations
NFHS Learning Center
Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
IESA Boys Basketball

2004 8AA Boys Basketball State Championship

Morton JHS vs. Champaign Franklin

February 23, 2004

The Synopsis

The 8AA Boy's Basketball State Championship game between Morton Junior High (24-1) School and Champaign Franklin (22-2) was tied at the end of regulation 45-45. The regulation game was a well-played 24 minutes. The first three-minute overtime ended with both teams tied 49-49.

At the end of the hard-fought second overtime, Champaign Franklin fouled a Morton player with two seconds to play and the score was tied again at 52-52.

The player from Morton sank both free throws to put Morton ahead by two points 54-52. Franklin in-bounded the ball from the end line opposite their bench.

Franklin's Verdell Jones, Jr. took two dribbles and launched a shot just beyond the opposing team's three point line. As the time expired, the ball sailed through the basket putting Champaign Franklin ahead by one point.

The final score was 55-54. Champaign Franklin ended the season 23-2 and Morton JHS finished second in the state at 24-2.


The Video

Unfortunately, we can make no guarantees that you will be able to view this movie.

Windows Media Player must be installed on your computer. You can obtain the free software here. It is a 9.6 MB download, which could take considerable time over a dialup connection.

Video of Game Winning Shot
Verdell Jones, Jr., Champaign Franklin
Courtesy WICD-TV Newschannel 15, Champaign

You can save this movie to your computer by right-clicking the link above, then choose "Save Target As."

Home   |   Site Map   |   Activities   |   News   |   Sportsmanship   |   Administration   |   Resources

WWW www.iesa.org

Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705 - PH: 309-829-0114 - FAX: 309-829-0625
Contact the IESA - http://www.iesa.org
Contents © 1999-2018 Illinois Elementary School Association