Girls Basketball

State Tournament Winners
Class 7-1A: 2006-Current
Year Champion Coach Score Runner Up Third Place Fourth Place
2023 Washington St. Patrick Dustin McDougall 22-6 Kinderhook Western Sigel St. Michael's Peru Catholic
2022 Washington St. Patrick Dustin McDougall 22-19 Sigel St. Michael's Ottawa Wallace Peoria Limestone Walters
2021 Sigel St. Michael's Jayme Petty 32-24 Ottawa Marquette Danville Schlarman Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell
2019 Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell Kari Froebe 25-20 Ashland A-C Central Bartonville Monroe Ottawa Marquette
2018 Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell Kari Froebe 52-20 Ottawa Wallace Mt. Pulaski Annawan
2017 Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell Kari Froebe 51-15 Carrollton St. John Morton Blessed Sacrament Monmouth ICS
2016 Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell Kari Froebe 40-30 Pana Sacred Heart Carthage Washington St. Patrick
2015 Carthage Traci Harrell 23-13 Decatur Our Lady of Lourdes Normal Epiphany Danville Schlarman
2014 Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell Kari Froebe 38-27 Jacksonville Our Saviour Decatur Our Lady of Lourdes Pontiac St. Mary's
2013 Danville Schlarman Keith Peoples 44-40 Bartonville Monroe Springfield Christian Pana Sacred Heart
2012 Danville Schlarman Keith Peoples 35-17 Lincoln West Lincoln-Broadwell Sigel St. Michael's Findlay Okaw Valley
2011 Atwood-Hammond Lynn Farmer 31-30 Rantoul St. Malachy Morton Blessed Sacrament Tonica
2010 Bartonville Monroe Meghan Schultze 38-25 Flanagan Odell Bourbonnais Maternity BVM
2009 Carrollton GS Geoff Driskill 24-21 Sigel St. Michael's Bartonville Monroe Cissna Park
2008 Springfield Christian Craig Jeffers 36-32 Gifford Sigel St. Michael's Peoria Limestone Walters
2007 Jacksonville Our Saviour Pat Staples 50-12 Bartonville Monroe Effingham Sacred Heart Grand Ridge
2006 Springfield Calvary Brittany Robbins 40-36 Jerseyville St. Francis HG London Mills Valley Jacksonville Our Saviour

Class History

The IESA sanctioned girls basketball in 1979. There was one class of girls basketball until 1986 when the activity was split into 7th and 8th grade classes. From 1990-2005, the Association adopted the format of 7th and 8th grade play based upon a school's enrollment (7A, 7AA, 8A and 8AA). Starting in 2006, the Association adopted a four class system in each grade level (7-1A, 7-2A, 7-3A, 7-4A, 8-1A, 8-2A, 8-3A and 8-4A). The current classification system assigns 25% of the schools to each of the four classes.

How Class Split is Determined

Human Kinetics Coach Education Center
Royal Publishing
DICK's Sporting Goods Event Pro Photography Mikasa Sports
Reinstein Quizbowl
A&M Products Run With The Law Slammer Systems Rawlings Cubby Hole
Illinois High School Association IHSA's March Madness Experience Illinois Athletic Directors Association National Federation of State High School Associations NFHS Learning Center
Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705
PH: 309-829-0114
FAX: 309-829-0625
Contents © 1999-2024 Illinois Elementary School Association

If you encounter an error message, please contact our webmaster.
Tell us your school, and be as specific as you can about the problem.
Most helpful would any error information listed as part of the error page.