IESA Boys Basketball
2019 Class 8-2A Regional Assignments
Registered Participants: 442   -   1A/2A/3A/4A Enrollment Split: 67/129/272   -   Determining Class Split
Regional Host   |   Co-op = Co-op Host   |   Coed = Coed Approved
Sectional 1
@ Burr Ridge Middle School
Host: Burr Ridge MS
Date: Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Regional 1
Bridgeview Universal   
Burr Ridge MS   
Ford Heights Cottage Grove UGC   
Hazel Crest Jesse White   
Lockport Taft   
Markham Obama   
Riverdale Washington   
Regional 2
Bourbonnais St. George   
Gardner    (Co-op)
Grant Park   
Joliet Laraway   
Marseilles ES   
Sectional 2
@ Peoria Heights High School
Host: Peoria Heights GS
Date: Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Regional 3
McNabb Putnam County   
Oglesby Washington   
Peoria Heights GS   
Sparland Midland   
Spring Bay Riverview    (Co-op)
Streator Woodland   
Regional 4
Marquette Heights Georgetowne   
Pekin St. Joseph    (Co-op)
Peoria Christian   
Peoria Heights St. Thomas   
Peoria St. Jude    (Co-op)
Peoria St. Philomena   
Peoria St. Vincent de Paul   
Sectional 3
@ Elmwood High School **New Site**
Host: Elmwood
Date: Thursday, February 7, 2019
Regional 5
Kewanee Wethersfield   
Oneida ROWVA   
Toulon Stark County   
Regional 6
Bartonville Oak Grove   
Bushnell-Prairie City   
Lewistown JHS   
London Mills Valley    (Co-op)
Peoria Norwood   
Peoria Pleasant Valley   
Table Grove VIT    (Co-op)
Sectional 4
@ Salt Fork Jr. High
Host: Sidell Salt Fork
Date: Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Regional 7
Champaign Judah Christian   
Sidell Salt Fork   
St. Anne   
Villa Grove   
Regional 8
Cerro Gordo   
Champaign St. Matthew   
Colfax Ridgeview   
Mansfield Blue Ridge IJHS   

IESA Boys Basketball 2019 Class 8-2A Regional Assignments
Sectional 5
@ Corpus Christi Catholic School
Host: Bloomington Corpus Christi
Date: Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Regional 9
Bloomington Cornerstone   
Bloomington Corpus Christi   
Delavan    (Coed)
Lincoln Chester-East Lincoln   
Mason City Illini Central   
Normal Metcalf   
Regional 10
Buffalo Tri-City   
Decatur Dennis   
Decatur Hope   
Decatur Johns Hill   
Decatur Robertson   
Illiopolis Sangamon Valley   
Mt. Pulaski   
Sectional 6
@ Brown County High School
Host: Mt. Sterling Brown County
Date: Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Regional 11
Concord Triopia    (Co-op)
Kinderhook Western   
Mt. Sterling Brown County    (Co-op)
Payson Seymour   
White Hall North Greene   
Regional 12
Augusta Southeastern   
Colchester West Prairie   
Mendon Unity   
Stronghurst West Central   
Sectional 7
@ Casey-Westfield High School
Host: Casey-Westfield
Date: Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Regional 13
Hutsonville    (Co-op)
Paris Crestwood   
Regional 14
Cowden-Herrick    (Co-op)
Effingham St. Anthony   
Kinmundy South Central   
Louisville North Clay   
St. Elmo    (Co-op)
Sectional 8
@ Pawnee
Host: Pawnee
Date: Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Regional 15
Assumption Central A & M   
Kincaid South Fork    (Co-op)
Morrisonville JHS    (Co-op)
Nokomis JHS    (Co-op)
Springfield Blessed Sacrament   
Springfield Christ the King   
Springfield St. Agnes   
Regional 16
Bunker Hill Wolf Ridge   
Carrollton GS   
Greenfield    (Co-op)
Hardin Calhoun    (Co-op)
Jerseyville St. Francis HG   
Mt. Olive   

Class History

From 1930 to 1972, there were two classes of basketball, Class A (Heavyweight) and Class B (Lightweight). An additional class was added in 1973--Class C (7th Grade). The Heavyweight and Lightweight classes were based on age, height and weight. From 1977-1984, the Heavyweight class was divided into two classes based upon enrollment--(A & AA). From 1985-2006, the Association adopted the format of 7th and 8th grade play based upon a school's enrollment (7A, 7AA, 8A and 8AA). Starting in 2007, the Association adopted a four class system in each grade level (7-1A, 7-2A, 7-3A, 7-4A, 8-1A, 8-2A, 8-3A and 8-4A). The current classification system assigns 25% of the schools to each of the four classes.

How Class Split is Determined

Home   |   Site Map   |   Activities   |   News   |   Sportsmanship   |   Administration   |   Resources


Illinois Elementary School Association
1015 Maple Hill Road, Bloomington, IL 61705 - PH: 309-829-0114 - FAX: 309-829-0625
Contact the IESA -
Contents © 1999-2019 Illinois Elementary School Association