# JESA

### 2016 CHEERLEADING ADVISORY MEETING Minutes and Recommendations February 11, 2016

#### The following members were present for this meeting:

Leslie Alappattu - IESA Assistant Executive Director Shaunda Brown - IHSA Assistant Executive Director Carley Redman - UCA Consultant Lisa Strzykalski - Coach, Frankfort Summit Hill Valerie Dees - Coach, Mahomet Seymour Courtney Earley - Coach, Reed-Custer MS Lynn Krumlinde - Coach, Lockport Kelvin Grove Lindsay Harvey - Coach, Yorkville

## The IESA Cheerleading Advisory Committee, in its meeting on February 11, 2016, makes the following recommendations to the IESA Board of Directors for their April 8, 2016, meeting:

#### **RECOMMENDATION #1**

#### Current

There is no rubric in place for neither the cheer nor the routine divisions.

Proposed

Implement a rubric for the routine division. PASSED

#### Rationale

- Provides increased consistency
- Allows opportunity for skill development for teams with specific criteria about how points can be earned
- The current transition to the IHSA rubric happens freshmen/JV year in school, but many regular season contests
  utilize the IHSA rubric when officiating junior high/middle school teams because there is not currently an IESA rubric

#### **RECOMMENDATION #2**

#### Current

The judges will score the squads according to the judging criteria on a 100 point system. In keeping with the proper role of cheerleading, emphasis will be placed on practicality of material.

#### Proposed

The judges will score the squads according to the judging criteria on a 100 point system. The total accumulated point value will be averaged against the number of judges and deductions will be taken from the average score. In keeping with the proper role of cheerleading, emphasis will be placed on practicality of material. **PASSED** *Rationale* 

- Clarifies the process of calculating the score (the way points are already earned and deducted)
- The current Terms and Conditions state that the total possible judging points is 100 points.
- A change will also be made to the technical scoresheet to reflect that the deductions will be taken from the average.

#### **DISCUSSION TOPICS**

- 1. IESA recognizes Bradley Central, Minooka, Lockport Kelvin Grove, Lake Zurich North and Frankfort Hickory Creek as champions of the 2016 state cheerleading competition.
- 2. The committee discussed the suggestion to move the location of coaches' seats to the front of competition mat. The committee agreed that the current location in front of the DJ is appropriate; the committee felt that the expectation for the participants to do their own counts at this stage and level of competition is appropriate. The diagram in the IESA Cheer Terms and Conditions will be modified to show the true positioning of the coaches' seating area (angled).
- 3. The committee discussed moving the afternoon coaches' meeting to a later time. The committee decided that moving the meeting as close to 35 minutes prior to the first afternoon report time as appropriate will allow

schools competing later in the afternoon to not arrive as early. This is the same amount of time between the start of the morning coaches' meeting and the first report time for the morning session.

- 4. The committee discussed how wristbands can be distributed to coaches at an earlier time instead of at the coaches' meetings. Coaches will be permitted to pick up packets upon arrival in Exhibit Hall A. Final competition schedules will be distributed at the morning and afternoon coaches' meetings.
- 5. Finally, the committee discussed continuing to stagger performances when multiple divisions are in a session and more evenly distributing back-to-back performances for the same division throughout the session.

The IESA Cheerleading Advisory Committee would like to thank Lisa Strzykalski, Valerie Dees, Lynn Krumlinde, and Lindsay Harvey for their continued commitment to IESA Cheerleading and their feedback over their years of service to the committee.

The IESA Cheerleading Advisory Committee's next meeting date is TBD. This will be determined once 4 new advisory committee members are seated.