

SPEECH ADVISORY COMMITTEE

MEETING MINUTES & RECOMMENDATIONS

January 7, 2008

The following were present for the meeting: Ken Bradbury, Special Consultant, Concord Triopia; Mary Nelson, Dunlap, Coach; Margie Steiner, Taylor Ridge Rockridge, Coach; Linda Traub, Atwood-Hammond, Coach; Julie Nelson, Braidwood Reed-Custer; and James Bunting, Watseka Glenn Raymond, Board Liaison.

The IESA Speech Advisory Committee, in its meeting of January 7, 2008, makes the following recommendations to the IESA Board of Directors for its January 18, 2008 meeting:

To make the following changes to the IESA Speech Terms & Conditions and By-laws:

1. Add to the listing of allowable props- The only props permitted for **Impromptu Individual Speaking** are a 3x5 note card and a writing instrument. The only props permitted in duet acting and **Improvisation** presentations shall be two chairs, two stools, a chair and a stool, a table and two chairs, a table and two stools, a table and one chair, a table and one stool, or a table and one chair and one stool.

Rationale: Allowable props for Impromptu and Improv were not previously listed in the Terms and Conditions.

To make the following additions:

2. Distribute information regarding the activity of speech to all member schools not currently involved in the activity.

Rationale: The 2007-08 speech season saw a considerable drop in participating schools. This is the first step in reaching schools who have not participated in the activity in the past. This will require some mailing costs.

3. Change the Speech Advisory Committee meeting date. New date will be the Wednesday of Week 28

Rationale: Current date often coincides with the return of schools to session.

Topics discussed included: host instructions, financial reports, additional categories, current contest areas, season schedule, super state, review and planning of workshop, and a review of the contest season.

Points of Emphasis for 2008-09:

- 1. How to deal with a problem the day of contest
- 2. Workshop
- 3. Deadlines and entry protocols
- 4. Audience protocol

Margie Steiner and Linda Traub were recognized for their service to the Committee.

The next meeting was scheduled for Wednesday, January 14, 2009.